Saturday, August 6, 2011

What was the old European Cup format like...?

The actual tourney was easier or more likely to be as no seeding. But winning your championship the year before was the only way to qualify so in that sense qualifying was harder. I'm bored of the group stages now, very little trouble for top sides to get through it seems. I'd love to see it go back to KO ties all the way with no seeding from 1st rnd on and no protection from playing teams from your own country. I remember Forest knocked defending champs Liverpool out in 79 I think that was 1st or maybe 2nd round.

No comments:

Post a Comment